Shostakovich & Mendelssohn: Orchestra of the City – CANCELLED

part of Clifton International Festival of Music 2020

Due to the ongoing impact of the Coronavirus outbreak, this performance is cancelled. There are no plans to reschedule at this time. All ticket holders are being contacted, and refunds will be processed as quickly as possible.

We thank all customers for their ongoing patience and support during this time.

For more information please read our FAQs here.

The Orchestra of the City makes its Bristol debut this Summer with Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No.2. An instrumental tour de force, it flits between mischievous wit and majestic splendour, through the heart-wrenching beauty of its slow movement, to a blistering rhythmic finale.

Alongside is Mendelssohn’s brooding Scottish Symphony, inspired by a twilight walk around the chapel ruins at Edinburgh’s Holyrood Palace. Since its first concert in 2003, the Orchestra of the City has given over 60 performances including world premieres and performances alongside acclaimed international soloists across London and the UK.

This is a Clifton International Festival of Music event at Clifton Cathedral, Clifton Park, BS8 3BX


Felix Mendelssohn – Symphony No.3 ‘Scottish’
Dmitri Shostakovich – Piano Concerto No. 2 in F major, Op. 102
Fanny Mendelssohn – Overture in C Major

Were you at this show?

We'd love to hear your memories of the performance. Add your photos, reviews and memories via Twitter using the hashtags: #colstonhall and #show274133 and they will appear on this page