Ligeti Quartet (formerly Christie Finn)

Please note: due to unforeseen circumstances Christie Finn will no longer be able to perform as part of Bristol New Music. Ligeti Quartet will instead be performing Jonathan Havey’s String Quartet No.4. We apologise for any disappointment caused.


As part of Bristol New Music, virtuoso soprano Christie Finn performs Georges Aperghis’ seminal vocal work 14 Récitations (1978) in the etherial setting of Redcliffe Caves. The piece presents a virtuosic blend of sounds, coloratura melismas and noise, all uncannily emanating from one vocal sound source. 14 Récitations pushes the boundaries of the voice to its limits, even while depicting the (sometimes racing, sometimes obsessive) thoughts of everyday humans.

Tickets are free but please reserve your place by clicking ‘Buy Tickets’.

Please note this event takes place at the Redcliffe Caves, for directions and information on how to enter the caves, visit here.

Bristol New Music 2018

This concert is part of Bristol New Music 2018, bringing the very best international contemporary new music to the city in partnership with Colston Hall, Arnolfini, Spike Island, St George’s Bristol and the University of Bristol for a dazzling weekend to explores new realms in sound.

To view the full festival programme click here.

Were you at this show?

We'd love to hear your memories of the performance. Add your photos, reviews and memories via Twitter using the hashtags: #colstonhall and #show241817 and they will appear on this page

Supported by

Bristol New Music is supported using public funding by Arts Council England and by the PRS for Music Foundation; in partnership with the University of Bristol.