Bristol Ensemble

Part of Bristol New Music 2018

  • Venue:

  • Time:

  • Date:

  • Price:

    £10.75 incl. booking fee

Buy Tickets

The Bristol Ensemble performs evocative new works by young Bristol University graduates Carmen Ho and Matthew Olyver, plus a searing setting by John Pickard of words by Gavin d’Costa, along with Howard Skempton’s Chamber Concerto.

This concert is free for students and under 25’s.

Please note this event takes place at the Victoria Rooms, University of Bristol, 88 Queens Rd, Bristol BS8 1SA


Matthew Olyver – On the Sea of Heaven
Carmen Ho – Dukkha (2016)*
John Pickard – Daughters of Zion (2017) (soloist Angahrad Lyddon – mezzo soprano)
Carmen Ho  – Illusion (2017)*
Howard Skempton – Chamber Concerto


John Pickard conductor

Bristol New Music 2018

This concert is part of Bristol New Music 2018, bringing the very best international contemporary new music to the city in partnership with Colston Hall, Arnolfini, Spike Island, St George’s Bristol and the University of Bristol for a dazzling weekend to explores new realms in sound.

To view the full festival programme click here.

Be part of it!

Tweet your photos and reviews of this show and they'll show up on this page and our Digital Archive. Just use the hashtags:: #colstonhall and #show234575

Supported by

Bristol New Music is supported using public funding by Arts Council England and by the PRS for Music Foundation; in partnership with the University of Bristol.

We’re building a
venue for Bristol